Used Approved

Compare (0) Contact Us

What are they?

Clean Air Zones are specific areas – typically cities – where action is required to improve air quality. They can be confined to a single road or a part of a city and may include an area in which vehicles can be charged for entering.


The Government has a long term commitment to improving air quality, and zones were due to be introduced from 2019 onward. Due to the COVID pandemic many have been delayed or cancelled, with more zones likely to come into force 2021.


Five cities have been mandated by the Government to introduce a Clean Air Zone. These are Birmingham, Leeds, Nottingham, Derby and Southampton, with London’s existing Low Emissions Zone undergoing changes. 23 additional Local Authorities must undertake feasibility studies.

Clean Air Zones

The Government has a long term strategy to improve air quality across the country by discouraging the use of older, more polluting, vehicles and has a short term goal to reduce the number of areas in the UK where air pollution breaches legal limits. As a result, cities and Local Authorities across the UK have been tasked with improving air quality in their areas through implementation of a Clean Air Zone (CAZ). Many of these areas are exploring charging high polluting vehicles to enter their zones (as London already does). These charges could be up to £200 per day for the most-polluting vehicles. Any vehicles meeting set emissions standards (Euro VI) would avoid the charge.

To discuss with Ryder the impact these upcoming changes may have on your fleet and how we can help you adapt,
please call 0800 100 200.